Check out and pay

Don't forget to check out when you reach your destination
Every time you complete a journey, you must check out using your rejsekort at a check-out card reader. There are check-out card readers in buses and on stations. The check-out card reader is clearly marked. You can also check out at Rejsekort ATMs in the areas where you can use rejsekort.

Check ud How to check out
To check out, hold your rejsekort over the Blue Point on the check-out card reader. When your check-out is registered on the chip on your rejsekort, the card reader emits a positive "bing" tone and an OK message will appear on the display screen. The price of the journey and the balance on your rejsekort account appear on the display screen. You have now successfully checked out and your journey is completed. If you move your card away from the Blue Point too soon, the chip will not register your check-out. If so, the card reader emits a negative "bong" tone and an error message "Fejl. Prøv igen" (Error – please try again) appears on the display screen. Hold your rejsekort over the Blue Point until the OK message appears in the display screen and the card reader emits a positive "bing" tone. You have now checked out correctly.

If you check out and then check in again in the same travel zone within 30 minutes, rejsekort converts the two separate journeys into one. This means that you avoid paying the minimum two-zone fare applicable for each separate journey.

Don't forget to listen for the tone and read the message on the screen when you use rejsekort devices. Then you can be sure that you have checked in and out correctly. 

You pay when you check out
At the precise moment you check out, rejsekort calculates the final price of your journey less any discount. This sum is deducted from your prepayment (learn more about prepayment here). If your journey has cost more than the prepayment, the difference between your prepayment and the price of the journey is deducted from the balance on your rejsekort account. If your journey has cost less than the prepayment, the difference between your prepayment and the price of the journey is added to the balance on your rejsekort.

Payment is made automatically when you check out. The display screen on the card reader displays the price of your journey and the new balance on your rejsekort account.

Did you forget to check out? You may still have time!
If you forget to check out but remember before the time limit (see time limits below), you may still be in time to do so. You can only check out on rejsekort devices. You cannot call Customer Services to check out. The price of your journey will be calculated according to the location of the card reader you check out from and the time that has elapsed since you initially checked in. Click here to see an overview.

If you do not manage to check out within the time limit, your prepayment will be forfeited – regardless how far you have travelled. By default, the prepayment is the sum you will pay for your journey. If you forget to check out, the journey will not be included in the calculation of discount.

If you fail to check out repeatedly over a 12-month period, Rejsekort A/S is entitled to freeze your card following two written warning letters. If your card is frozen, you will be blacklisted and you will not be permitted to purchase a Rejsekort Personal or Rejsekort Flex for a period of 12 months.